Fandom Friday

Fandom Friday #002

So, here I am, trying to post on the regular and hold myself accountable as a weekly thing…

(Wish me luck… or maybe perseverance.  As I said last week, I’m a bit short on stick-to-it-iveness when it comes to blogging.  Eep.)

Now that that’s out of the way, let’s get on to this week’s list!

Drumroll, please…

 1. Nerd HQ (formerly, the Nerd Machine)

Full disclosure, I’m a contributor at Nerd HQ/the Nerd Machine.  They let me write nerdy things to my fangirl heart’s content, so I think they’re pretty great.  This week, they let me  wax poetic about my love of ABC’s short lived series, Pushing Daisies.  (Next week, I get to talk about a movie that’s very near and dear to my heart, but shhh, no spoilers!)  My fellow contributors have been knocking it out of the park this week too!  Here are a few of my favourite articles from this past week:

Batman: The Animated Series: Even Better (and More Important) Than You Remember, by Brandon Crnkovic (@BCrnk)

Mattel Unveils New Line of Toys for Wonder Woman Film, by Karen Valenzuela (@VictoriaNoir89)

How Technology Expands Fandoms and Brings Us Together, by Jenifer Hettinger (@jennbear2128)

2. Star Wars’ Sneak Peek at The Last Jedi Merch

Put a reminder in your calendar for Friday, September 1, 2017, because that’s the date Star Wars has deemed ‘Force Friday II’, when they’re going to launch the first batch of merch for The Last Jedi (set for a Christmas 2017 release).

The promo images gave us all our first peep of Poe, Rey, and Finn.  Gotta say, I’m digging Rey’s new hair.  I did love her trio of space-buns, but Daisy Ridley’s rocking that Qui-Gonn-esque half pony + lightsaber combo.

(In other news, September 1, 2017 is the day that Disney will take all my monies…  And, you know, when term begins at Hogwarts…)

3. Riverdale

Everybody’s been talking about the CW’s sexified, noir, Twin Peaks-y interpretation of Archie.  After reading some things (like Samantha B.’s thoughts on ‘The New Riverdale’) and hearing a ton of buzz about it around the coffee machine at my muggle job, I decided to give it a chance.

I wanted to like it.  I really did.  There were things I loved about it (Pop’s, Jughead being a writer, Kevin, Betty, Veronica…) but I didn’t even make it through the first episode.  The squick-tastic flashbacks to Archie and Ms. Grundy’s illicit, statutory affair brought my viewership to a screeching halt.  Archie Andrews was, at most, 15 at that time (I don’t care that the actor is older) and there is nothing risqué, forbidden, sexy, or, Maker forbid, shippable, about his having any kind of sexual liaison with Ms. Grundy, who is both above legal age and in a position of power over him.

Moving on…

4. Heritage Park Ghost Tours

Heritage Park Historical Village here in Calgary announced today that they’d be running a limited number of ghost tours.  I was so excited, until I went to buy my ticket and saw that they were tragically sold out.  They’re adding more dates, but some of my friends have already booked, so unfortunately, I won’t be able to go with them.

(Fun Fact: I love ghost stories and haunted places.  In May 2016, during a trip to San Diego, CA for a friend’s wedding, I, my husband, and a few friends visited one of the most haunted places in all of North America.  Ask me about the spooky of that sometime.)

5. Star Trek: The Starfleet Academy Experience at Telus Spark

Another local happening that’s got my heart beating hummingbird-style is the Starlet Academy Experience at Telus Spark.  While I know it’s probably more geared towards kids, I desperately want to go to learn Klingon, pilot the Enterprise, and fire a phaser.

LeVar Burton, Jonathan Frakes, and Garrett Wang were recently in town to launch the exhibit and I’m just… fangirling out about it?  (The full TNG cast was here a few years ago for the Calgary Expo and Garrett Wang is a repeat Expo guest, but there’s something about them being on the actual bridge set up of the Enterprise that just gets me.)

It’s on until June 4, 2017, which, thankfully, gives me lots of time to ‘Boldy Go’.

Stay passionate!

Leave a Reply

