Fandom Friday

Fandom Friday #006

Today’s Fandom Friday is pretty much all about movies.

Watching movies is one of the things in life that makes me happiest, be it on my couch in my PJs with a quilt over my shoulders or in a dark theatre with a sticky floor under my shoes and a bag of ‘movie theatre’ popcorn in my hands.

Summer blockbuster season is upon us and here’s what I’m looking forward to:

1)  King Arthur: Legend of the Sword (May 12, 2017)

(Yes, I know it’s been on Fandom Friday before, but koalas in the rain, my friends, because I cannot wait!)

I’m a big fan of Charlie Hunnam.  I thought he was excellent in Pacific Rim and Crimson Peak (as well as Sons of Anarchy, which goes without saying, in my opinion) and I’m stoked to see him team up with Guy Ritchie.  Plus, King Arthur has Jude “Young Dumbledore” Law, Eric Bana, Djimon Hounsou, Aidan Gillen, AND Katie McGrath.

2)  Love Actually Reunion!!! (May 25, 2017)

It’s not a current film OR a summer blockbuster, but the cast of Love Actually is reuniting for Red Nose Day!  For me, Christmas just isn’t Christmas without Hugh Grant dancing around 10 Downing Street and my favourite part of this trailer is his ‘years on’ boogie.

3)  Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales (May 26, 2017)

Okay, so, here’s the thing:  Pirates of the Caribbean is my all time favourite ride at Disneyland.  I could spend a whole day there riding it and never be bored.  I even do a stage tribute to the ride as my glittery alter-ego.

Disney’s Pirates of the Caribbean trilogy has a very special place in my heart because of this.  In a slew of reboots and sequels, Dead Men Tell No Tales is one that I won’t miss, because it returns to the story of the Turner family and Will’s transformation from blacksmith to pirate was part of what captured me with the trilogy was first released.

4)  Wonder Woman (June 2, 2017)

21 DAYS!!!!!!

5)  All Eyez on Me (June 16, 2017)

I’m a sucker for a biopic and I’ve been waiting for this one since the casting was first announced.  I remember reading some interviews with Kat Graham where she mentioned that Jada Pinkett Smith being really supportive about Kat’s portrayal of her and I’m really excited to see Kat on the big screen.

What movies are you most excited to see this summer?

Leave a Reply

