Fandom Friday · Harry Potter · Reading

Fandom Friday #016

Like last week’s #FandomFriday, this week’s theme is also books!  (Shocker, I’m sure…)

Books were my very first fandom, before fandom was a word I knew or a concept I understood.  I was an imaginative child (another shocker, right?) and my love of stories is deep and everlasting.  Each of the books in my collection was a dear friend that I knew would be there for me whenever I needed or wanted to visit with them and the worlds they shared with me.  Though I may have mentioned them before in various posts, here are five books that I can read over and over again and love just the same as if it were the first time:

Harry Potter & The Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling

My love of Harry Potter is pretty legendary (scroll back through my Insta for pictures of my HP themed 30th birthday party), but CoS was the book in the series that truly hooked me.  I love a good mystery and ‘Who is the heir of Slytherin?’ will always be one of my favourites.

White Oleander by Janet Finch

No matter how many times I read this, there is no part of Astrid’s journey that fails to captivate me.

The Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen

This was the first book of Sarah Addison Allen’s that I read, which I picked up based on the cover at a little shop in the building that housed my old office.  It was my introduction to the incredible world building skills that Sarah Addison Allen possesses and I absolutely fall in love with Josey, Della, and Chloe every time I pick it up.

Public Secrets by Nora Roberts

When my first copy of this book bit it a few years ago, because it was so ratty from re-reads that the cover fell off, I went right out and bought a new one.  The characters are so compelling and I’m hooked whenever I read the words “The first time Emma met her father, she was three…” even though I know exactly how it will go.

Something Borrowed by Emily Griffin

Look, I’m well aware that the concept of ‘woman sleeps with bestie’s fiance’ is pretty shady shades, but Rachel White is such an excellent character that I’m willing to a) look past it, and b) root for her.  I’ve read this book at least four times and I still feel the same every time.  My heart clenches up when I see the pink cover peeping out of my bookshelf.  (I even watched the movie, which had GREAT casting, despite a poor execution.)

❤ Stay passionate, friends!

“(PS: If you wanna chat books in the comments, I’m always down to do that. I have literally curated my own library at home, complete with card catalogue. Give me your recs or chat with me about mine. ALSO, support your local library, just saying.)” <— from last week, still applicable this week!

Leave a comment